Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 18.53.55

We are delighted to premiere the new single by Sheffield band SHEAFS.

‘Punchline’ is the debut single proper by the Yorkshire quintet, made up of Lawrence Feenstra (lead vocals), Chris Goodacre (guitar/backing vocals), Charles Mellor (guitar), Callum Wright (bass/backing vocals) and Charlie Eastap (drums). Despite only being together for four months, SHEAFS have already created quite the buzz on the already thriving Sheffield music scene, with their first track ‘Anticipation, No Consolation’ receiving multiple airplays on BBC Radio Sheffield and Radio X. The band also sold out a headline gig at The Rocking Chair in February.

The new single was recorded and produced by Alan Smyth (whose previous credits include legendary acts Richard Hawley, Pulp and many more) at Sheffield’s 2Fly Studios, and will get its official release on Friday 18th March. To coincide with the single release, SHEAFS will be playing at a Scruff Of The Neck promoted gig at Sheffield’s Plug alongside I Set The Sea On Fire, LIINES and Blinders on the same day.

‘Punchline’ is three minutes of unapologetically loud indie rock, complete with raw vocals and blistering guitar riffs. It’s reminiscent of those early Arctic Monkeys ‘Beneath The Boardwalk’ demos that grabbed the world’s attention 10 years ago. Check out the single below, and preorder the track on iTunes here.

About The Author

Charlotte Davies

Editor-in-Chief of Hooting And Howling Magazine. Just a Northern soul. New music obsessive, freelance PR, radio presenter and complete shambles. Also part of the Thirsty Girls DJ Collective. Twitter: @charlottealiced